Ad Listing

The Root Chakra icon

In continuation to the last weeks post on chakras, from today we shall know a little more on each chakra, its characteristics, the behavioural patterns, and the basic aspects to it.

Today we shall talk a little about the root chakra which is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine.

  • Key Characteristics
  • Sanskrit name: Muladhaar
  • Symbol: Lotus with four petals.
  • Function – Grounding
  • Colour – Red
  • Mantra -Lam
  • Organs connected to the root chakra are :
    1. Legs
    2. Feet
    3. Lower Back
    4. Bones
    5. Kidneys.

    When the root chakra is blocked we feel unstable, insecure, hungry and there is a tendency to gain weight. The bloackage shows up in our body as constipation, arthritis, spinal tension and knee problems. Lower back pain is usually the first symptom, Varicose veins, tumours, polyps in the rectal region, depression, immune related disorders, a lack of self-esteem, confusion, distraction, and disconnection are indicators that the muladhaar or the root chakra is not functioning perfectly Temper tantrums is a typical expression of a blocked 1st Chakra. When this chakra is blocked there is a lack of self-esteem in oneself. The perfect example of a blocked root chakra is a person who is lazy, depressed, airy ,impractical and experiences obstacles in all spheres of life.

    Behavioural Aspects:

    The root chakra is associated with the following behavioural characteristics Security


    Basic needs (food, sleep, shelter, self-preservation, etc.)

    Physicality, physical identity and aspects of self


    Support and foundation for living our lives

    The root chakra provides the foundation on which we build our life. It supports us in growing and feeling safe into exploring all the aspects of life. It is related to our feeling of safety and security, whether it’s physical or regarding our bodily needs or metaphorical regarding housing and financial safety. The root chakra is where we ground ourselves into the earth and anchor our energy into the manifest world.

    Spiritual Aspect:

    As discussed above the muladhara chakra is located at the base of the spine. Within this chakra, the dormant kundalini Shakti is represented by the serpent which is coiled 3 1/2 times around the siva lingam in its center. The yellow square represents the earth element. The bija mantra is lam. The red triangle represents Shakti, symbolising awakening of sleeping consciousness to alert consciousness. There are four crimson lotus petals which denote the four psychic functions, Mind (Manas), Intellect (Buddhi) Consciousness (Chitta) and Ego (Ahankaar). From the muladhara the three main psychic channels or nadis originate and go up the spinal cord. These are the sushumna in the center, the Ida on the left, and the pingala on the right. When the kundalini awakens, it rises up the sushumna nadi to the sahasrara chakra.

    Within the muladhara chakra is also located the Brahma granthi, or knot of Brahma. This is one of three psychic knots within the sushumna which must be opened, or pierced, in order for the kundalini to continue it’s ascent to sahasrara. When people awaken to the idea of divine consciousness, the brahma granthi begins to loosen and the individual consciousness becomes aware of a greater purpose than instinctual.

    In today’s world, this chakra is the most imbalanced in humans because every word thought action which is not innocent, pure joyful or in integrity with the soul harms this chakra.

    Mudra : Touch the Index finger and thumb. Keep the arms straight and place the back of the hands on the knees.

    Food : Beets, garlic, ginger, turnips, potatoes, onions, and carrots. Red beans and lentils are a great protein source, fruits such as watermelon, pomegranates, and berries — can help to recharge your root chakra spice like paprika, and pepper can be added to root chakra foods for an added boost of healing.

    Affirmations : “The Universe loves me and blankets me in infinite safety.” “As my feet touch the ground, I feel the security of the earth supporting me.” “My life force is replenished by the energy of the world around me.” “I awaken each morning knowing that I am safe and filled with potential for a positive day.”
    “I am safe, content, and steady.”
    “I am at home in my life, body, and within the Universe.”
    “I am protected by my guides and the Universe.”

    Essential Oils : The essential oils can be mixed with coconut or olive oil, and applied topically by rubbing on the feet or corresponding chakra area.

    Alternatively, try an aromatherapy approach by using a diffuser. The oils that help to balance the root chakra are
    Black Spruce
    Vetiver .

    May you heal and balance your root chakra so you’re relaxed and yet full of vitality, feel safe and grounded, have a healthy skin, blood, bones and bowels, legs and feet (as well as a good memory).

    Angelic Blessings!

    Swati Anurag - 98251-37428